Jazz à Liège - Logo

02.03.04.05.
mai 2024

EMILE LONDONIEN House Party

02/05

Regina Club

EMILE LONDONIEN House Party

Issu de la scène strasbourgeoise et du collectif Omezis qui regroupe une vingtaine d’artistes, musiciens, DJ’s et vidéastes, Emile Londonien s’imprègne de la scène jazz anglaise de ces quinze dernières années pour en proposer une version personnelle. 

Régulièrement playlistées sur la BBC, les productions du trio d’Emile Londonien trouvent un écho enthousiaste et les éloges se mettent à pleuvoir, à commencer par ceux de l’influent dj et producteur Gilles Peterson himself qui voit en eux des héritiers : « I saw these guys recently live. They are a sort of celebration of the last 10-15 years UK jazz scene (...) It’s a crossroads place ». Encore inconnu quelques mois auparavant, le groupe se produit au Worldwide Festival de Sète, au Montreux Jazz Festival à l’été 2021 et au Nancy Jazz Pulsations, confirmant sur scène tout le bien qu’on pouvait penser d’eux à l’écoute.
Influencé par Yussef Kamaal, The Comet Is Coming, Atjazz, Sun Ra, mais aussi Ornette Coleman ou Thelonious Monk et par les scènes, Broken Beat, Jazz, House, Hip Hop, Emile Londonien incarne à merveille cette « Next Gen » du jazz français aux cotés de Léon Phal, dont il est proche. Après la parution d’un 5 titres en septembre 2022 (« Jazz Contenders »), et d’un premier album très remarqué en février 2023 (« Legacy »), le groupe prépare la sortie de son prochain projet pour mars 2024.

Jazz à Liège - Logo

02.03.04.05.
may 2024

EMILE LONDONIEN House Party

02/05

Regina Club

EMILE LONDONIEN House Party

Straight from the Strasbourg scene and the Omezis collective, which brings together around twenty artists, musicians, DJs and videographers, Emile Londonien immerses himself in the English Jazz scene of the last fifteen years to offer a personal version of it.

Regularly playlisted on the BBC, the productions of Emile Londonien's trio met with an enthusiastic response and praise began to rain down on them, firstly from influential DJ and producer Gilles Peterson himself, who saw them as successors: "I saw these guys recently live. They are a sort of celebration of the last 10-15 years UK Jazz scene (...) It’s a crossroads place”. Still unknown a few months earlier, the group performed at the Worldwide Festival in Sète, at the Montreux Jazz Festival in the summer of 2021 and at Nancy’s Jazz Pulsations, proving their live shows to be just as good as their recordings.

Influenced by Yussef Kamaal, The Comet Is Coming, Atjazz, Sun Ra and also Ornette Coleman or Thelonious Monk and by the Broken Beat, Jazz, House and Hip Hop scenes, Emile Londonien perfectly embodies this “Next Gen” of French Jazz alongside, Léon Phal, who has a similar sound. After the release of a 5-track recording in September 2022 (“JazzContenders”), and a highly acclaimed first album in February 2023 (“Legacy”), the group is preparing the release of their next project for March 2024.