Jazz à Liège - Logo

02.03.04.05.
may 2024

Julien Tassin Quartet

02/05

Cite Miroir

Julien Tassin Quartet

Sometimes we have high hopes, only to be caught unawares by life's unexpected twists and turns. These moments remind us of the crucial role played by resilience and self-confidence in our lives. This is precisely what Julien Tassin's latest album, "Great Expectations", aims to explore: his own experiences with hope, joy and disillusionment.

Last year, trumpeter Ron Miles was scheduled to be Julien's special guest for a performance at Bozar, Brussels, where he would have completed the trio alongside Dré Pallemaerts and NicolasThys. Sadly, Miles died unexpectedly. Despite this immense loss, Tassin continued to write music for the project. He then invited American trumpeter JasonPalmer (Roy Hanes, Herbie Hancock, Jimmy Smith, Wynton Marsalis, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Ravi Coltrane,Mark Turner) to join the trio. This led to the recording of a new album. GreatExpectations".

As in classical music, most compositions are made up of several movements, each reflecting a distinct mood and state of mind. The twists and turns in the music are aligned with the overall theme, where each track tells a story that moves effortlessly from one groove to the next, while retaining a cinematic tone. But this music leaves plenty of room for improvisation and interaction, which has always been the group's strength in the studio and live. Tassin's fascination with the blues is evident throughout the album, resulting in a unique and exhilarating combination of blues, jazz and rock.

The album was released on November 10 on W.E.R.F. Records & IGLOO Records. In concert, "GreatExpectations" will be performed by Julien Tassin on guitar, Nicolas Thys on double bass, DréPallemaerts on drums and Eritrean-American Hermon Mehari on trumpet. Expect a fresh, lively sound that showcases the quartet's infinite creativity.

Line-Up : 

Julien Tassin (BE) - guitar Federico Pecoraro (IT) - bass                                                                                                                                                                     Dré Pallemaerts (BE) - drums  Hermon Mehari (US/ER) - trumpet

Jazz à Liège - Logo

02.03.04.05.
mai 2024

Julien Tassin Quartet

02/05

Cite Miroir

Julien Tassin Quartet

Il nous arrive parfois de nourrir de grands espoirs, avant d'être pris au dépourvu par les rebondissements imprévus de la vie. Ces moments nous rappellent le rôle crucial que jouent la résilience et la confiance en soi dans nos existences. C'est précisément ce que le dernier album de Julien Tassin, « Great Expectations », vise à explorer : ses propres expériences avec l'espoir, la joie et les désillusions.

L'année dernière, le trompettiste Ron Miles était prévu pour être l'invité spécial de Julien lors d'une performance au Bozar, à Bruxelles, où il aurait complété le trio aux côtés de Dré Pallemaerts et Nicolas Thys. Malheureusement, Miles décède de manière inattendue. Malgré cette immense perte, Tassin a continué d’écrire de la musique pour ce projet. Il propose alors au trompettiste américain Jason Palmer (Roy Hanes, Herbie Hancock, Jimmy Smith, Wynton Marsalis, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Ravi Coltrane,Mark Turner) se joindre au trio. Ce qui a conduit à l'enregistrement du nouvel album. : « Great Expectations ». 

Comme dans la musique classique, la plupart des compositions sont constituées de plusieurs mouvements, chacun reflétant une atmosphère et un état d'esprit distincts. Les rebondissements dans la musique s'alignent sur le thème général, où chaque morceau raconte une histoire qui passe sans effort d'un groove à l'autre, tout en conservant une tonalité cinématographique. Mais cette musique laisse beaucoup d'espace pour l'improvisation et l'interaction, ce qui a toujours été la force du groupe en studio et en concert. La fascination de Tassin pour le blues est évidente dans l'album, il en résulte une combinaison unique et exaltante de blues, de jazz et de rock. 

L'album est sorti le 10 novembre sur W.E.R.F. Records & IGLOO Records. En concert, "GreatExpectations" sera interprété par Julien Tassin à la guitare, Nicolas Thys à la contrebasse, Dré Pallemaerts à la batterie et l'Américano-Érythréen Hermon Mehari à la trompette. Attendez-vous à un son frais et vivant qui mettra en valeur la créativité infinie du quartet. 

Line-Up : 

Julien Tassin (BE) - guitar Federico Pecoraro (IT) - bass                                                                                                                                                                     Dré Pallemaerts (BE) - drums  Hermon Mehari (US/ER) - trumpet