Jazz à Liège - Logo

02.03.04.05.
may 2024

Leon Phal

02/05

Regina Club

Leon Phal

Originally from Aÿ-en-Champagne, the Franco-Swiss saxophonist, Léon Phal, settled in Geneva for several years following his studies at the Haute École de Lausanne. There, he met his collaborators who now exemplify the European cream of a generation of thirty-somethings raised on the classics, cutting loose from them while brilliantly paying them tribute.

Through his mastery of the instrument, his incredible sense of melody and the delicacy of his compositions amplified by a powerful groove, in just a few years, Léon Phal has become one of the most exciting jazz musicians. His talent was discovered through “Canto Bello”, his first album (released in 2019) which did not go unnoticed at the Nancy Jazz Pulsations and Vienna Jazz festivals, where, in succession, he became prize-winner the same year. His “freshness” was noted by the press who called him a “Revelation” (Jazz Mag 2019), one of the “Top 5 saxophonists” (Jazz News 2021) and even a “favorite” (Le Monde, TSF Jazz, FIP, France Musique, Académie Charles Cros etc.). Léon Phal was even recently nominated in the final of the Victoires du Jazz 2022, following the release of his second opus, “Dust to Stars”, in April 2021.

Léon Phal will release his third album “Stress Killer” in 2023, which will see the group’s continued quest for modern and resolutely groovy jazz, still with significant freedom left for improvisations.

Jazz à Liège - Logo

02.03.04.05.
mai 2024

Leon Phal

02/05

Regina Club

Leon Phal

Originaire d’Aÿ-en-Champagne, le saxophoniste franco-suisse Léon Phal s’est installé à Genève depuis plusieurs années suite à ses études à la Haute École de Lausanne où il rencontré ses complices avec qui il constitue aujourd’hui la crème européenne de cette génération de trentenaire biberonnée aux classiques et qui s’en affranchit tout en leur rendant hommage avec  brio.
Sa maîtrise  de l’instrument, son sens inouï de la mélodie et la délicatesse de ses compositions amplifiées par un groove dévastateur ont porté Léon Phal en quelques années comme l’un des musiciens de jazz les plus excitants. Un talent découvert à travers “Canto Bello”, son premier album (sorti en 2019) qui n’a pas échappé aux festivals Nancy Jazz Pulsations et Jazz à Vienne, dont il est coup sur coup le lauréat des tremplins la même année. Une “fraîcheur” notée par la presse qui l’a consacré “Révélation” (Jazz Mag 2019), “Top 5 des saxophonistes” (Jazz News 2021) et même comme “coup de coeur” (Le Monde, TSF Jazz, FIP, France Musique, Académie Charles Cros etc.). Léon Phal fut même récemment nominé en finale des Victoires du Jazz 2022, à la suite de la sortie de son second opus “Dust to Stars” en avril 2021.
Léon Phal sort en 2023 son troisième album “Stress Killer” à travers lequel le groupe poursuit sa quête d’un jazz moderne et résolument groove avec toujours une liberté importante  laissée aux improvisations.